CER elects new Management Committee

Posted: 24 September 2019 | | No comments yet

The Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER) has elected a new management committee to oversee the development of the European railways and ensure the promotion of “sustainable mobility policies”.


At its General Assembly on 23 September 2019 in Gdańsk, Poland, the Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER) elected its new Management Committee.

Crister Fritzson, Chairman of the Swedish Association of Train Operators (ASTOC) and CEO and President of SJ, has been reconfirmed as CER’s Chair.

Andreas Matthä (CEO of ÖBB), Oliver Wolff (General Managing Director of VDV), Marc Wengler (Director General of CFL) and Erik Laidvee (CEO of EVR) will act as Vice-Chairs.

Other members of the Management Committee will be Isaías Táboas Suárez (RENFE President), Sophie Dutordoir (SNCB CEO), Richard Lutz (DB CEO), Krzysztof Mamiński (PKP CEO), Gianfranco Battisti (FSI CEO), Andreas Meyer (SBB CEO), Geert Pauwels (Lineas CEO), Guillaume Pepy (SNCF President), Roger van Boxtel (NS CEO), and Robert Homolya (MÁV President and CEO).

Crister Fritzson commented: “Rail is the solution for a more sustainable transport system and a key enabler of the EU ambitions to reduce CO2 emissions. As European policy-makers are increasingly looking at us as reliable partners in the promotion of sustainable mobility policies, it is an honour for me to represent the association in this most relevant public debate.”

CER Executive Director, Libor Lochman, commented: “I am happy to see the commitment of our members to the associations’ goals. I would like to thank the CEOs who accepted to be part of the Management Committee for dedicating attention and time to CER. I look forward to working with each one of them in order to guarantee the best possible visibility to our vision for the new legislature.”