Network Rail has confirmed new Route Director appointments

Posted: 16 September 2019 | | No comments yet

As Network Rail’s 14 new routes go live, Britain’s infrastructure manager has appointed new Route Directors to oversee the day-to-day operations, maintenance and delivery of train performance in their respective areas.

Network Rail has confirmed new Route Director appointments

Network Rail’s Regional Directors have each confirmed a series of appointments to their senior management teams as the company’s 14 new routes went live on the 16 September 2019.

It follows the announcement earlier in 2019 of Network Rail’s plans to put passengers and freight users first, recognising the need to get closer and be more responsive to its customers and local stakeholders.

Network Rail has previewed the 14 new routes, which are now live and those who have been appointed have the job of taking responsibility for operations, maintenance and minor renewals in their respective areas, and managing the day-to-day delivery of train performance and relationships with their local train operating companies.

The new routes and regions are part of phase one of the Putting Passengers First programme, providing the framework for further phased changes to be introduced through to summer 2020, subject to consultation.

Andrew Haines, Network Rail Chief Executive, said: “The 14 new routes are all about moving power and accountability from the big network functions to the routes and regions, giving them greater accountability for train performance in their areas. It is a fundamental change and at the heart of the transformation of Network Rail to a business that is unequivocally on the side of passengers and freight users, focused on delivering better day-to-day performance.”

A summary of the route appointments can be found below.

Eastern region (led by Rob McIntosh, Managing Director)

  • Ellie Burrows – Route Director, Anglia
  • Gary Walsh – Route Director, East Midlands
  • Matthew Rice – Route Director, North & East
  • Paul Rutter – Route Director, East Coast

Scotland’s Railway (led by Alex Hynes, Managing Director)

  • Liam Sumpter – Route Director, Network Rail Scotland

Wales and Western region (led by Mark Langman, Managing Director)

  • Bill Kelly – Route Director, Wales and Borders
  • Mike Gallop – Route Director, Western

North West and Central region (led by Tim Shoveller, Managing Director)

  • James Dean – Route Director, West Coast Mainline South
  • Phil James – Route Director, North West
  • Dave Penney – Route Director, Central

Southern region (led by John Halsall, Managing Director)

  • Mark Killick – Route Director, Wessex
  • Shaun King – Route Director, Sussex
  • Fiona Taylor – Route Director, Kent
  • Katie Frost – Route Director, Network Rail High Speed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.